Classwork 15.03.2024

1.Complete the sentences with the correct modal in italics.

1)You (must/should/shouldn’t) be 18 before you can drive in Spain.

2)You (don’t have to/mustn’t/shouldn’t) go to bed so later.It’s not goot for you.

3)You (don’t have to/mustn’t/shouldn’t) wear a school uniform in most. Spanish state schools.

4)You (must/mustn’t/needn’t) come. I can do it without you.

5)You (don’t have to/must/mustn’t) copy during erams.

6)You (don’t have to/mustn’t/shouldn’t) be very tall to play footboll.

7)You (must/mustn’t/needn’t) be a good writer to win the Pulitzer Prize.

 

2.Complete the sentences with the positive or negative forms of must or have to.

1)Brilliant! I must study tonight because I’ve finished my exams.

2)You can go out, but you must be home by midnight.

3)You can go out, but you have to be home be midnight.

4)Jo must go to school by bus. She lives nearby.

5)We have to cook tonight. We can get a pizza.

6)She must get up early. She’s on holiday.

7)You must study harder or you are going to fail.

8)You have to drive faster than 120 km/h on the motorway.

 

3.Complete the sentences with the correct modal verb. Use must, mustn’t, or don’t have to.

I must go to school from Monday to Friday. We must wear a uniform, so I normally wear sport clothes. We must arrive late, and we must go to every class. In class, we mustn’t shout, play or sing. We must have lunch at school, so I sometimes go home. When school finishes, I must look after my little sister. When my parents come home I must stay in, so I usually go out with my friends. When I get home, I must do my homework. I must go to bed late, except on Fridays, when I mustn’t go to bed before midnight.

 

4.Choose the correct modal verb in Italics:

1)I (can/can’t/might) go out tonight. I’m too busy.

2)I haven’t studied enough. I (may/may not/might pass my exams).

3)I (could/couldn’t/might) be here next weekend.

4)They say it (can/could not/might) snow tomorrow.

5)She (can/might not/won’t be able to) help us. She’s not available.

6)(Can/May/Might) you come to my party?

7)We should run or we (can/might/might not) miss the bus.

8)I don’t know, but (can/couldn’t/may) be late.

Թողնել պատասխան

Ձեր էլ-փոստի հասցեն չի հրատարակվելու։ Պարտադիր դաշտերը նշված են *-ով